2016 Conference

The Samuel Griffith Society’s 2016 Conference will be held in Adelaide from Friday 12 August to Sunday 14 August 2016.

The Conference Programme, together with details about Speakers, is available here.

Confirmed speakers for the Conference include:

  • The Honourable Robert French AC, Chief Justice of Australia
  • The Honourable Chris Kourakis, Chief Justice of South Australia
  • Sir David Smith KCVO, AO
  • Professor Jeffrey Goldsworthy
  • Margaret Cunneen SC
  • Brendan O’Neill
  • Honourable Dr Peter Patmore AM
  • Honourable Dr Ken Coghill
  • The Registration Form for the 2016 Conference is now available as a PDF here.

    Accommodation for delegates wishing to stay at the Stamford Plaza Adelaide will be entitled to 10% Off the Fully Flexible Room Only Rate at the time of booking for the 12th – 14th August 2016. Bookings should be made directly with the hotel on 08 8461 1111, advising reservations that you are attending the Samuel Griffith Society Conference and quote the code SA120816 at the time of booking. Guests will also need to provide a valid credit card number to confirm the reservation. It is advised to book as soon as possible to get the best rate and room availability.

    As usual, the Conference will commence with a dinner on Friday 12th August and will conclude around noon on Sunday, 14th August.

    We will again be looking to encourage more students to attend our conference and are appealing to Samuel Griffith Society members to consider sponsoring a student’s attendance at the conference. (Scholarships are priced at $375 which would cover the full conference registration but part donations will be gratefully accepted). Scholarships will be awarded on a competitive basis.

    Please contact us on 03 9225 8512 or send us an email via our Contact page if you would like to sponsor or contribute towards a student attending this years’ Conference.

    Australian Constitutional Law Essay Competition 2016

    Competition flyerThe essay question for the 2016 Australian Constitutional Law Essay Competition has been announced.  All tertiary students are invited to enter.  The winner will receive the Sir Samuel Griffith Prize at this year’s conference.

    Further details about the competition and the conference may be found in the flyer (click on the image to the right).

    Full terms and conditions are available here.

    Entries must be submitted by 21 June 2016.